Skip to content

Why I Watch Wrestling

03/02/2012

A question I’m asked frequently by a number of my friends is why do I continue to watch wrestling? To them, Pro wrestling is something I should of “grown out of” by now. Needless to say, I am regularly teased for the fact that I still enjoy watching pro wrestling. But, the question that they ask is valid. Why do I continue to watch every Monday and Friday? Is it now just a force of habit, Is it in similar way to a sports team that you support for life, is it a will to be entertained. To be honest, the answer is pretty simple. I watch pro wrestling because I love pro wrestling. Wrestling at it’s best is an artform. story telling, using your body and mind to make people believe. To amaze them, to make them want more.

One of the main keys of wrestling is emotional investment. We, the viewers see those larger than life characters each and every week. We watch the heels cheat and we feel robbed. We see the face overcome the odds and we cheer (in most cases). For those 2 hours every Monday and Friday we suspend our belief. We hear those promos and we take in what the wrestlers are saying. We believe them. We sympethise with them. We invest in everything they do. So much infact that it’s not uncommon for a wrestling fan to be geuinely annoyed if what they wanted to happen doesn’t occur. Just by looking on a site like youtube, you can find thousands of fans ranting, raging, praising and offering their opionion on what should be happening in the world of wrestling. These fans are so passionate about wrestling, they want they voices to be heard. When a fan trashes WWE or TNA on sites like youtube, they do because they love wrestling and deep down they believe that they know what’s. It’s no different for a football or soccer fan watching a game at home, disagreeing with the coaches.

I mentioned that my friends say to be that I should of grown out of wrestling by now. I started watching wrestling when I was 8 years old. Stone Cold had just beaten Shawn Micheals for the WWE championship at Wrestlemania 14. I was introduced to wrestling during the “attitude era.” Now as an 8 year old at the time, you can imagine my reaction, when I heard the language, When I saw Stone Cold flipping the bird to just about anyone who looked at him. DX with their countless sexual innuendos, When I saw people bleeding in the ring. I thought that this was the coolest thing ever. At the time, I knew nothing of the scripted nature of pro wrestling. I just saw this large spectacle on my screens every week and i adored it. From then I was hooked. I couldn’t wait to see What Austin would next do to Vince Mcmahon. I wanted to hear The Rock shout his numerous catchphrases. The WWE had pulled me in.

But, then it finally happened. I don’t remember where or when but one day I finally learned the truth and at the time it was difficult to accept. My brother revealed to me about how pro wrestling was scripted and results pre dertermined. I didn’t want to believe it. How could these people on my television lie to me. I trusted them. I felt like I knew them. As a kid, when I learned that. I could never quite watch wrestling in the same light again. It just doesn’t feel that special anymore. The only thing I can liken it to is when you’re a kid at christmas eagerly waiting to see what santa brought you. But as you get older and you learn the truth that santa isn’t real. Christmas does lose a bit of the magic. It’s still something you enjoy but, It never quite feels the same. That’s how I felt about pro wrestling. I still continued to watch it. I just looked at it differently.

I can understand why my friends say I shold of grown out of it. But as time passed. I learned to look past the scripted nature and focus on what wrestlng was truly about. Like I mentioned earlier. Wrestling tells a story. The age old concept of good versus bad. Light against dark. It is the storytelling that pulls me back week after week. When you are a kid watching, the story telling does kind of pass you by. When you watch the match, all you see is 2 guys beating the crap out of each other. But now as an older fan. I can appreciate the finer details of what goes on during a match. Smalls things like a heel focusing on a injured body part of the face. Or when a face just refuses to give up after a severe beat down. After all these years watching. I still turn on my TV a week later without fail to see what’s going to happen next. It’s safe to say that wrestling isn’t as prominent as it once was, But however many eras it goes through the constant of wrestling will always stay the same. Good verus bad. And it doesn’t matter if you’re a kid watching for the first time or person who has watched for years. Good versus bad is the thing that makes you come back week after week.

Needless to say that my friends will never be convinced. Infact, I could show this to each and everyone of them and they wouldn’t understand. Maybe that is the point. That some people will just never understand what wrestling is all about. My love for wrestling can help me see past the scripted nature. Now I just watch wrestling for what it is. In my honest opinion. It is probably the best way to do it.

Follow me on Twitter here

From → Pro Wrestling

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

